Web Banner Tairawhiti

Our people and their mahi: Jordan Tibble

2 Dec 2019

Our people and their mahi: Jordan Tibble

Jordan tibble NR

In an ongoing series meeting 'our people', we chat to Whaia Titirangi operational lead Jordan Tibble about her mahi at Titirangi maunga and protecting it for future generations . . .

What is your job and what does it involve?

My job in which I get paid is the operational team lead for the Whaia Titirangi team, but my overall commitment to this project is Kaitiaki of Titirangi maunga. Being Kaitiaki is more of a personal obligation for me - what my team and I do is for our future rangatahi. This involves pest weed and predator eradication, planting native species with our tamariki from local schools, upskilling via studying and attending local and out of town environmental hui to gain knowledge to bring home.

What do you enjoy about the job?

Hard mahi. I enjoy being outdoors and always have. Our job pushes us to the limit but once the work is done and you see the results, it’s all worth it in the end. The opportunities to visit other roopu (groups) with the same initiative to revive our Taiao (environment) is a bonus for us but also keeps us humble in the fact  there are a lot of others with the same mind set to achieve similar goals and visions.

What are the challenges of the job?

There aren’t really any significant challenges to be honest. The challenge is to be challenged, there’s nothing more rewarding than overcoming a challenge.

How could the public make it easier for you to get the job done?

DON’T ASK, JUST DO!  I'm sure everyone’s well aware of what a weed is and if we can all do our bit to help on the maunga, it will go a long way. Similar to that of the ripple effect. If we get at least a handful of people pulling ragwort while out for a run, I’m sure the rest will follow. Also, keep up to date with our work our Whaia Titirangi Facebook page.

How do you like to spend your time out of the council?

I love ‘trekking’ although my idea of a trek is slow and steady, observing every tiny fascinating thing I see which often turns a 3 hour walk into 5 hours, before eventually stopping into a hut for the night. If I’m not in the bush I’m in the ocean diving, surfing or fishing. A good doco and a bowl of French vanilla ice cream with my dog and partner is also how I spend most my time lol.