Web Banner Tairawhiti

Notice of Election - Nomination of Candidates 2019

Show Sidebar

Notice of Election - Nomination of Candidates 2019

Nomination of candidates and enrolment arrangements

Public Notice
Description: Nominations open 19 July and close noon Friday 16 August
Closing Date: 16 August 2019 at 12:00pm
Contact Name: Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 12 October 2019:

Gisborne District Council 

Mayor - election of mayor
Council - election of nine councillors for the Gisborne Ward
Election of one councillor for the Matakaoa-Waiapu Ward
Election of one councillor for the Taruheru-Patutahi Ward
Election of one councillor for the Tawhiti-Uawa Ward
Election of one councillor for the Waipaoa Ward

The First Past the Post electoral system will be used for these elections.
Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting documents.

Hauora Tairawhiti

Election of seven members for Hauora Tairawhiti
The Single Transferable Voting electoral system will be used for this election.
Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting documents


Nominations for the above positions open on Friday 19 July 2019 and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper, available from the electoral officer.
Completed nomination papers must be received by the electoral officer no later than noon on Friday 16 August 2019. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by electronic bank transfer, eftpos, cash or cheque.

Candidates are advised that if they are intending to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for including with voting documents sent to electors, these must be lodged at the same time as the nomination paper and nomination deposit.

Hauora Tairawhiti candidates must also submit a Conflict of Interest Statement with their nomination.
More information on the nomination process is in the candidate information handbook available online or in hardcopy.

Electoral roll

The preliminary electoral roll for the above elections can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Friday 19 July 2019 to Friday 16 August 2019:
- Gisborne District Council’s Main Office, 15 Fitzherbert Street, Gisborne
- Te Puia Springs Service Centre, 4746 Waiapu Road, Te Puia Springs

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:
- completing an enrolment form available at any postal agency or district council office
- calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
- visiting the Electoral Commission’s website (www.elections.org.nz).

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm Friday 16 August 2019.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on an enrolment form from the district council and must be returned by 5pm Friday 16 August 2019.

More information on the 2019 local body elections 

Attachment1: GDC Notice of Election July19