Citizen civic award recipients

Show Sidebar

Citizen civic award recipients

The 2016 citizen civic awards ceremony was held in December.

2016 civic award recipients

In recognition of being nominated for a Citizen's Civic Award for community service.

Cherie Anne Knight

Nominated by David Ion and Russell Holmes for her work with the Gisborne Volunteer Centre, Red Cross, Gisborne Police Camera Trust, Habitat Restore and the East Coast Museum of Technology.

Evan Parkin

Nominated by Alison Crawford and Jean Mills for his service on committees with Plunket, schools and sports. Evan was a local referee and coach for Elgin School and Junior Soccer and a member of the Regional Soccer Committee. He was also on the Elgin School Board for 12 years. He is a Park Golf Club Committee member and also assists various organisations with their financial reviews.

Christine Parkin

Nominated by Alison Crawford and Jean Mills for her service on committees like Plunket, schools and SPCA. Christine is a valued member of the Turanganui Women’s Institute and as a member of the Elgin Quilters Group has helped make hundreds of baby quilts and knitting for premature babies in the neo-natal ward.

Angela Hill

Nominated by Jean Mills and Alison Crawford for her work on the Council of Social Services. 11 years ago she established a service to help those with mental, physical and emotional issues gain confidence and societal acceptance through art and crafts. Several years later funding changes meant Angela had to battle for funding and a new venue to allow the group to continue to develop their skills and reach their potential.

Elizabeth Clark

Nominated by Jean Mills and Alison Crawford for her work with the Women’s Institute. Elizabeth has played an active role in the Catering Fundraising Team supporting Daffodil Day, The Cancer Society, Stand Children’s Village and Relay for Life.

Norman Maclean

Nominated by Jackie Davis and Patricia Hall for his significant contribution to the Arts Community in Gisborne. Known to many as “Mr Unity Theatre” he has been a
member since 1966 serving on the committee and as president for a number of terms, and now runs Unity Youth Theatre. Norman has directed many plays, mentored many actors and fledgling directors as well as working tirelessly behind the scenes with set design, construction, painting, designing costumes and props.

Pru Clayden

Nominated by Audrey Pratt and Murray Rider for her work with Greypower since 2004 and Meals on Wheels since 2007. As the coordinator of the Gisborne Meals on Wheels service, Pru assists with the rosters for the 7 runs and often has to fill in at the last minute delivering meals during driver shortages.

Duncan Chisholm

Nominated by Maree Jeffs and Lynn Mackey for his work with Centre Stage, Gisborne Host Lions Fundraising and St John’s Ambulance. Duncan also finds time to train St John’s cadets as well as helping out at Unity Theatre and Musical Theatre.

Ralph Walker

Nominated by Nigel Marshall and Tim Marshall for his work with many groups including Friends of Tairawhiti Museum, Ngati Porou Iwi Justice Panel and the Poverty Bay Blues Club. He is a founding member of the Tauawhi Men’s Centre and is also a lay advocate for the mare based youth court Te Kooti Rangatahi. Ralph is a stalwart of the local arts scene consistently contributing, supporting and promoting local artists and events. 

2015 recipients

Civic Awards  
Catherine Macdonald Gavin Maclean
Helen Swan Mary Bayley
Karangawai Kururangi Frederick Smith
Prue Roberts Arish Naresh
Alison Ross Maureen Potroz
Norma Hooks  
Merit Awards  
Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Nga Uri a Maui Philip Paniani                

Brian Cochrane  

2014 recipients

Civic Awards                                                   
Jean Weke   Betty Thompson                    
Chris Sharp Whaiora Enoka
Judy Livingston Neville Clarke
Raunikau Stainton Christopher Hudson
Mereheni Waitoa Tui Takarangi
Last updated: